Skip to main content

STAAR Assessment

Information for Parents About the STAAR Test

  • All public school students in Texas, grades 3–12, take STAAR tests.

  • STAAR is the state’s testing program and is based on state curriculum standards in core subjects including reading, writing, mathematics, science, and social studies.

  • Grades 3–8 STAAR tests are given in the spring. End-of-course assessments (EOC) are given throughout the year. The number of tests your child takes each year will depend on what grade he or she is in. Most students will have two to four testing days during the school year.

  • STAAR tests are given to students at their own school, in regular classrooms that have been set up to make it easy to focus on the test. If students have certain special needs and require special accommodations, they may be tested in a different area of the school.

  • STAAR tests are designed to measure what students are learning in each grade and whether or not they are ready for the next grade. The goal is to ensure that all students receive what they need to be academically successful. Meeting these individual student needs depends greatly on schools, parents, and community members working together.

  • STAAR tests for grades 3–8 and EOC assessments are in online formats.


State Testing Calendar

The Texas Education Agency publishes a calendar of the various state assessments that are administered throughout the school year. This calendar includes the test, grade level, subject area, and date of each administration.

The revised calendar is posted to the Texas Education Agency’s (TEA) website

STAAR Resources

In Spring of 2012, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) replaced the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS). The STAAR program includes annual assessments for grades 3–8 in reading and mathematics; assessments in writing at grades 4 and 7; in science at grades 5 and 8; and in social studies at grade 8; and end-of-course assessments (EOCs) for English I, English II, Algebra I, Biology and U.S History.
The Texas Education Agency posts resources on their website to provide opportunities for familiarization of the design and format of the STAAR program. These resources are found at the TEA STAAR Program Website

Graduation Testing Requirements

Students who began the 9th grade for the first time in 2011-2012 or later must take the STAAR End-of-Course exams in English I, English II, Algebra, Biology, and U.S. History and pass them in order to graduate.


Access Your Child's STAAR Results